top of page
Sustainable fashion: Print-On-Demand from Printful 
 
Sustainable fashion is the new norm

Sustainable fashion is a scientific and data-driven movement that aims to ensure that our clothes are made, sold and worn as sustainably as possible. Furthermore, the movement aims to address the social problems that affect industrial workers, such as low salaries and poor working conditions.

I find it satisfying that this call comes from the customers themselves. People are aware of the problems of the fashion industry. They want to improve the situation and demand that companies follow suit.

Source: Nielsen

Retail chains understand that they must respond to customer requests. However, brand manufacturers must understand that simply repeating marketing slogans is not enough to satisfy an eco-conscious target group.

For example, in 2019 the British fashion retail chain Boohoo (article in English)that they stop using wool to be more environmentally friendly. This decision was reversed a few hours later after they were heavily criticized by their customers, among other things because wool is a relatively sustainable material.

Aside from the rocky start, Boohoo has since proven that they care about making meaningful changes. Last year, the retail chain expanded its first collection made entirely from recycled material (English), published. Today they are more transparent about what their Social Responsibility Initiatives (English) concerns.

Deceiving customers that you are sustainable, so-called greenwashing, doesn't work. You have to become sustainable to actually make change, not just follow consumer trends (or pretend to).

To understand why it is necessary to work together towards sustainable fashion, it is important to know the main problems of the fashion industry.

The current state of the fashion industry

The global Fashion industry turnover (English) is expected to rise from $481.2 billion in 2018 to $712.9 billion in 2022.

Source: Statista

Luckily, the fashion industry has never been more eager to become more sustainable than it is now.

The main problem is the pollution caused by the production and sale of clothing. To better understand the magnitude of this problem, let's look at the life story of one of the fashion industry's all-time favorite items: the white cotton t-shirt.

Cotton clothing is comfortable, durable and breathable. Cotton is also relatively cheap to plant and harvest, so it's no surprise that, other than food, cotton is the world's most widely consumed grain.

However, cotton has a dark side: Farmers use pesticides, insecticides and fertilizers, which, mixed with the water, penetrate the soil and thus affect the country's biodiversity and reduce fresh drinking water.

Growing cotton for one T-shirt requires 3,323 liters of water. This is enough drinking water for a person for 3.5 years. For comparison: the same amount of polyester only requires 18 liters of water.

After the cotton is harvested, it is sent to a mill, which processes it into a rough, gray fabric. The fabric is then bleached, dyed and processed with chemicals to achieve the desired look - a roll of soft, white fabric that is sent to sewing factories to make T-shirts. Each of these steps can cause environmental damage through the use of chemicals and water.

Eventually the t-shirts arrive at your favorite store, you buy one and wear it. But what happens to the other shirts on the rack? T-shirts that are not sold often end up in landfills and are burned, which leads to even more exhaust fumes and pollution.

The fashion industry and its customers are aware of these issues and the commitment to change things for the better is at an ongoing high. Everyone is looking for solutions that will turn the industry around so that every cotton t-shirt ends up in our wardrobes in a sustainable way.

Printful's experiences as a print-on-demand service

Print-on-demand services are probably just one step towards a more sustainable fashion industry. Let's look at how Printful's product catalog and inventory, printing techniques and equipment, and the way we manage our manufacturing facilities help our customers create sustainable brands.

The pressure

We try to make the printing process as environmentally friendly as possible. We invested $27 million in state-of-the-art printing equipment and will continue to invest in the latest technologies from companies with sustainable fashion in mind.

We are a proud partner of Kornit, a specialist in prints directly on textiles. Thanks to their commitment and efforts towards sustainability, Kornit printers produce almost no waste water and use less energy, reducing their carbon footprint.

Direct-To-Garment prints are more sustainable than traditional printing methods such as screen printing. Not only does screen printing use a lot of water and non-biodegradable plastisol ink, but it also tends to lead to overproduction. For comparison: Direct-To-Garment printing is more environmentally friendly because items are only printed when they already have a buyer.

Our stocks

The biggest advantage for print-on-demand providers over other large fashion retailers is that they produce less waste.

Traditional clothing chains create items to sell and are mass-produced to save costs. In contrast, at Printful we only print an item once a customer has placed an order for it and only produce items that already have a destination.

Because of this, we can avoid overproduction, where unsold goods have to be thrown away or burned, as is the case.other retail giants are already doing (English). In an industry that produces 92 million tons of waste every year, such a business strategy is groundbreaking.

Print-on-demand waste primarily comes from items that are damaged during the printing process. Printful's average for damaged goods is within the industry average.

Printful donates returned items to local charities and gives damaged clothing to animal shelters, which can use them for their own purposes.

The products we print and how we source them are also crucial. That's why our purchasing department is always looking for new products that we can add to our range. One of our goals for 2020 is Printful's range of organic and eco-friendly items to expand.

bottom of page

Nachhaltige Mode: Print-On-Demand von Printful 
 
Nachhaltige Mode ist die neue Norm

Nachhaltige Mode ist eine wissenschaftliche und datengesteuerte Bewegung, welche sicherstellen möchte, unsere Kleidung so nachhaltig wie möglich herzustellen, zu verkaufen und zu tragen. Weiterhin zielt die Bewegung auf die Adressierung der gesellschaftlichen Probleme, welche die Arbeiter der Industrie, wie niedrige Gehälter und schlechte Arbeitsbedingungen, betreffen.

Ich finde es zufriedenstellend, dass dieser Aufruf von den Kunden selbst kommt. Die Leute sind sich den Problemen der Modeindustrie bewusst. Sie möchten die Situation verbessern und verlangen, dass Unternehmen mitziehen.

Quelle: Nielsen

Einzelhandelsketten begreifen, dass sie auf die Anfragen der Kunden eingehen müssen. Markenhersteller müssen jedoch verstehen, dass es nicht ausreicht, einfach Marketing-Sprüche zu klopfen, um eine ökobewusste Zielgruppe zufrieden zustellen.

Beispielsweise verkündete 2019 die britische Mode Einzelhandelskette Boohoo (Artikel auf Englisch), dass sie aufhören, Wolle zu verwenden, um umweltfreundlicher zu sein. Diese Entscheidung wurde einige Stunden später revidiert, nachdem sie von ihren Kunden heftig kritisiert wurden, unter anderem, da Wolle eine relativ nachhaltiger Stoff ist.

Abgesehen von dem holprigen Start, hat Boohoo seither bewiesen, dass ihnen bedeutungsvolle Änderungen wichtig sind. Letztes Jahr hat die Einzelhandelskette ihre erste Kollektion, die vollständig aus recyceltem Material besteht (Englisch), veröffentlicht. Heute sind sie transparenter, was ihre Initiativen zur sozialen Verantwortung (Englisch) angeht.

Den Kunden vorzugaukeln, du seist nachhaltig, sog. Greenwashing, funktioniert nicht. Man muss nachhaltig werden, um tatsächlich Änderungen zu bewirken und nicht nur um Konsumer-Trends zu folgen (oder so zu tun).

Um zu verstehen, warum es notwendig ist, zusammen auf nachhaltige Mode zu zuarbeiten, ist es wichtig die Hauptprobleme der Modeindustrie zu kennen.

Der aktuelle Stand der Modeindustrie

Der globale Umsatz der Modeindustrie (Englisch) soll von 481,2 Mrd. Dollar in 2018 auf 712,9 Mrd. Dollar in 2022 steigen.

Quelle: Statista

Glücklicherweise war die Modeindustrie nie eifriger als jetzt, um nachhaltiger zu werden.

Das Hauptproblem ist die Verschmutzung, welche durch die Produktion und den Verkauf von Kleidung entsteht. Um das Ausmaß dieses Problems besser zu verstehen, schauen wir uns den Lebenslauf eines allzeit beliebten Artikels der Modeindustrie an: das weiße Baumwoll-T-Shirt.

Kleidung aus Baumwolle ist bequem, haltbar und atmungsaktiv. Baumwolle ist ebenfalls relativ günstig zu pflanzen und zu ernten, daher überrascht es nicht, dass Baumwolle, abgesehen von Nahrung, das weltweit weitest verbreitete Getreide ist.

Allerdings hat Baumwolle eine Schattenseite: Landwirte verwenden Pestizide, Insektizide und Dünger, welche mit dem Wasser vermischt in den Boden dringen und somit die Biodiversität des Landes beeinträchtigen und frisches Trinkwasser verringern.

Der Anbau von Baumwolle für ein T-Shirt benötigt 3,323 Liter Wasser. Das reicht für einen Menschen 3,5 Jahre als Trinkwasser. Zum Vergleich: Die gleiche Menge an Polyester benötigt nur 18 Liter Wasser.

Nachdem die Baumwolle geerntet wurde, wird sie zu einer Mühle geschickt, welche sie zu einem rauen, grauen Stoff verarbeitet. Der Stoff wird dann gebleicht, gefärbt und mit Chemikalien bearbeitet, um den gewünschten Look zu erzielen – eine Rolle mit weichem, weißen Stoff, welcher an Nähfabriken geschickt wird, um T-Shirts zu fertigen. Jeder dieser Schritte kann durch die Nutzung von Chemikalien und Wasser Umweltschäden verursachen.

Schließlich kommen die T-Shirts bei deinem Lieblingsladen an, du kaufst eines und trägst es. Doch was passiert mit den anderen Shirts auf dem Ständer? T-Shirts, die nicht verkauft werden, landen oft auf Mülldeponien und werden verbrannt, was zu noch mehr Abgasen und Verschmutzung führt.

Die Modeindustrie und ihre Kunden sind sich über diese Probleme bewusst und das Engagement, Dinge zum Besseren zu ändern, ist auf einem anhaltenden Hoch. Jeder sucht nach Lösungen, welche die Industrie umdrehen, sodass jedes Baumwoll-T-Shirt auf nachhaltige Wege in unseren Kleiderschränken endet.

Printfuls Erfahrungen als Print-On-Demand-Dienst

Print-On-Demand (zu Deutsch: Druck auf Anfrage) Dienstleistungen sind vermutlich nur ein Schritt zu einer nachhaltigeren Modeindustrie. Schauen wir einmal, wie Printfuls Produktkatalog und Lagerbestände, Drucktechniken und Ausstattung, sowie die Art und Weise, wie wir unsere Produktionsstätten leiten, unseren Kunden hilft, nachhaltige Marken zu kreieren.

Der Druck

Wir versuchen den Druckvorgang so umweltfreundlich wie möglich zu gestalten. Wir investierten 27 Mio. Dollar in modernste Druckausstattungen und werden weiterhin in neueste Technologien von Firmen, welche nachhaltige Mode im Sinn haben, investieren.

Wir sind stolzer Partner von Kornit, einem Spezialisten für Drucke direkt auf Textilien. Dank deren Engagement und Bemühungen bezüglich Nachhaltigkeit, produzieren Kornit Drucker fast kein Abfallwasser und verbrauchen weniger Energie, wodurch der CO2-Fußabdruck gesenkt wird.

Direct-To-Garment (zu Deutsch: Direkt auf Textilien) Drucke sind nachhaltiger als herkömmliche Druckmethoden, wie der Siebdruck. Beim Siebdruck werden nicht nur viel Wasser und nicht biologisch abbaubare Plastisoltinte verwendet, sondern auch neigt diese Weise zu Überproduktionen. Zum Vergleich: Der Direct-To-Garment Druck ist umweltfreundlicher, da Artikel erst dann gedruckt werden, wenn sie bereits einen Käufer haben.

Unsere Bestände

Der größte Vorteil für Print-On-Demand-Anbietern gegenüber anderen großen Modeeinzelhändlern ist, dass hierbei weniger Abfall produziert wird.

Herkömmliche Bekleidungsketten erstellen Artikel zum Verkaufen und werden in Massen hergestellt, um Kosten zu sparen. Im Gegensatz drucken wir bei Printful einen Artikel erst, wenn ein Kunde eine Bestellung dafür aufgegeben hat, und stellen nur Artikel her, welche bereits einen Bestimmungsort haben.

Aufgrund dessen können wir ein Überproduktion vermeiden, bei der unverkaufte Ware entsorgt oder verbrannt werden muss, wie es bereits andere Einzelhandelsgiganten tun (Englisch). In einer Industrie, in welcher jährlich 92 Mio. Tonnen Abfall entstehen, ist so eine Geschäftsstrategie bahnbrechend.

Abfälle bei Print-On-Demand entstehen hauptsächlich von Artikeln, welche im Druckvorgang beschädigt werden. Printfuls Schnitt für beschädigte Ware liegt hierbei innerhalb des Branchendurchschnitts.

Printful spendet zurückgesendete Artikel an lokale Wohltätigkeitsorganisationen und gibt beschädigte Kleidung an Tierheime, welche diese für eigene Zwecke verwenden können.

Die Produkte, welche wir bedrucken, und wie wir diese beziehen, ist ebenfalls ausschlaggebend. Daher sucht unser Einkauf stets nach neuen Produkten, die wir in unser Sortiment aufnehmen können. Eines unserer Ziele für 2020 ist Printfuls Sortiment für organische und umweltfreundliche Artikel zu erweitern.

Folge uns auf sozialen Netzwerken!

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Pinterest - Weiß, Kreis,
  • YouTube - Weiß, Kreis,
  • Twitter - Weiß, Kreis,

Kontakt:

- Verein und Haus der Creationen

- CreativAgentur der neuen Zeit

Su(sanne) RIHS

Raabser Straße 21, 3580 Horn

Telefon: +43/(0) 29 82 / 20 6 32
Mobil: +43/(0) 676 / 524 66 70

​E-Mail >>>

www.erfolgsessenz.com 
Bunte Stadt Horn 

Digitaler Winzer

5sterne.png

​© 2020 by Su Rihs

Unsere Zahlungsarten:

Vorauskasse und Bezahlung im Shop